Mind, Body, Spirit, FOOD
Mind, Body, Spirit, FOOD Podcast
Gaining Trust in Our Bodies Through Stillness with Nicki Sizemore
0:00
-19:46

Gaining Trust in Our Bodies Through Stillness with Nicki Sizemore

Plus a Year-End Recap!
Transcript

No transcript...

Hello, and welcome back to the podcast! In today’s solo episode, I reflect on the importance of trusting in ourselves and our bodies, especially during the holiday season and the onslaught of diet culture messages. I explore how we need to develop a deep connection with ourselves and the foods we eat in order to untangle ourselves from the web of conditioning around food (learn more about that web here). I describe how this requires embracing the unknown, finding stillness within ourselves in order to access our intuitive knowledge. I also share my personal journey of strengthening trust in my path and navigating self-doubt. Finally, I discuss the balance between structure and flexibility in our lives.

Episode Takeaways

(Scroll down for episode timestamps!)

  • Trust in ourselves and our bodies is crucial, especially in the face of diet culture messages.

  • Developing deep connection with ourselves and the foods we eat can help cultivate trust.

  • Embracing the unknown and finding stillness within ourselves allows us to access intuitive knowledge.

  • Balancing structure and flexibility in our lives can support trust and intuitive decision-making.

  • Listening to the messages of our bodies and giving ourselves grace is essential for trust and well-being.

Season 2 Wrap-Up and 2023 Recap 🎉

This episode wraps up season two of the podcast (the show will be back in February!). What a year this has been. I started this podcast last February without much planning—it was truly born out of a desire to learn and grow. I couldn’t have foreseen how many ears we’ve reached or how many amazing people I’ve had the joy to chat with. The podcast has streamed in 14 countries (!) and, thanks to you, has a rating of 5.0 (those ratings really help, and I am so grateful to those of you who’ve taken the time to rate or leave a comment!).  

The top streamed episode was Human Design, Food & Digestion with Jasmine Nnenna and the most shared episode was Food & Sex with Cat Meyer. I got to speak with so many other incredible women who inspire me daily, including:

, , , , and . We covered subjects ranging from summer cooking, to winter vegetables, to patriarchal conditioning, to the fallacy of cooking as love, to anti-fat bias, to embodiment, and more. 

In addition, Liz Carlisle taught us about regenerative farming, Zoe Adjonyoh introduced us to Ghanaian cuisine, Samantha Fulton explained how the nervous system influences digestion, Molly Stevens taught us how to handle the holidays logistically and emotionally, and Natalie Deeb and Edward Espe Brown reminded us that cooking and eating can be sacred acts. And I can’t forget about the baking episodes with Samantha Seneviratne and Calvin Eaton, both of whom just released new books (order them here and here)!!

I also talked with Chryssa Tsakiris about perfectionism and the patriarchy, Emily Morrison about food and Chinese Medicine and even my husband, James Sizemore, about our personal intersections of food and music. Finally, I shared a bit of my own heart in a couple of solo episodes, sharing my history with food and my intentional cooking practice.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for listening and for supporting this work (especially to the paid subscribers, who help fund this ad-free space!). Also, thank you to my wonderful audio engineer, Tommy Harron, who makes the episodes sound great, even when there are technical mishaps (so grateful for you!). 

This podcast has become one of the greatest gifts in my life, helping me to expand and evolve in ways I couldn’t have foreseen. I hope it has helped you expand as well. We're growing as a community, and there's so much strength and support in the new web that we’re building. 

Please know that I’m here for you in whatever way I can be. I can’t wait to see what season three of the podcast will bring!

Episode 23 Timestamps 

  • 00:00 The Importance of Trust

  • 03:26 Developing Deep Connection

  • 04:20 Strengthening Trust in the Path

  • 06:24 Trusting Our Bodies

  • 07:22 Embracing the Unknown

  • 08:25 Cultivating Stillness

  • 09:45 Finding Balance in Structure

  • 11:41 Listening to the Messages of the Body

  • 12:24 Loosening Up Structures

  • 13:27 Welcoming the Void

  • 16:19 Gratitude and Support

  • 17:46 Closing and Future Plans

Let me know if you give today’s episode a listen (also, do you like these solo episodes?)!

Leave a comment

You can listen to the podcast right here, or, better yet, subscribe to the podcast in Apple PodcastsSpotify, or Stitcher. Please share the podcast with your friends and rate it on your podcast app (it really helps!). You can also support this ad-free work by upgrading to a paid membership or gifting one to a friend.

Subscribe to the podcast on Apple

Subscribe to the podcast on Spotify

Have a wonderful week, and remember to nourish yourself with intention and love

xo, 

Nicki

Links/Resources Mentioned in the Episode:

Recent Episodes

0 Comments
Mind, Body, Spirit, FOOD
Mind, Body, Spirit, FOOD Podcast
Interviews, recipes and inspiration to feed your body, mind and spirit, as well as to find more presence, joy and freedom in the kitchen.